The members of the board manage Committees whose focus is to provide counsel on specific issues important to members.

We would love to see more members to get involved, so if there is a committee you are interested in, or would like to start a new activity, or organize an event, please contact the chair of that committee or anyone else within the Executive.


  • Benefits Committee

The Committee monitors the benefits that retired faculty receive from the University. It draws upon the concerns and priorities of our members to identify possible improvements to benefit programs and makes recommendations for the Association to pursue.

Chair: Paul Marantz (

-David Breen
-Gordon Munro
-Mark Thompson
-James Zidek


  • Communications Committee

The scope of its work involves all aspects of how our organization communicates with its members, our departmental reps, UBC administrators and beyond through its newsletters, web pages, office staff, survey questionnaires, brochures, E mail announcements, Memorandums of Understanding, and Special Reports.

Chair: Richard Tees (


-Derek Applegarth
-Don Blake

-Carolyn Gilbert
-Ray Hall
-Robert Schutz
-Sandra van Ark (Office Administrator)


Back to the top


  • Continuing Scholarly Activities Committee

The APE Executive Committee launched a new Standing Committee For Continuing Scholarly Activities in January 2013 to, “foster, promote, facilitate and disseminate the continuing scholarly activities of Emeriti/ae faculty who wish to remain engaged in academic pursuits consonant with the University’s mission.”   
The first task was to compile a Summary of the wide range of activities in which Professors Emeriti/ae are engaged. The committee is exploring how to make the continuing scholarship of retired faculty more visible in the university community, and sources of funding to optimize our continuing scholarly endeavors.

Chair: Dianne Newell ( and Judith Hall (

-Ken Craig
-Don Fisher
-John Gilbert
-Cindy Greenwood
-Diana Lary
-Bernie Shizgal
-Patricia Vertinsky

Back to the top


  • Membership Committee

The Membership Committee identifies concerns, coordinates activities, and maintains liaisons between the Association of Professors Emeriti (APE) and new and continuing members. In addition, the Committee investigates methods to improve relations between APE and the wider UBC community.

Co-Chairs:  George Bluman ( and Stephen Tredwell (

-Derek Applegarth
-Michael Davies
-Linda Leonard
Olav Slaymaker
-John Stager
-Sandra van Ark (Office Administrator) 


Back to the top


  • Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee consists of the immediate Past President (Chair) and at least two other members approved by the Executive who propose a slate of Officers and Members-at-Large to be voted on at the Annual General Meeting.

Chair 2018: Richard Spencer ( )

Back to the top


  • Office Committee


This Committee maintains liaison between the Executive and the Office Administrator; oversees the activities of the office, explores the possibilities of better use of the office and to reach out to the members. The Administrator alerts the Committee to equipment and space needs, and IT support.

Chair: Sandra van Ark (Office Administrator)

-Paul Marantz
-Richard Tees

Back to the top


  • Programs Committee

The Programs Committee is responsible for selection of speakers at our general meetings and for finding, suggesting, selecting and supporting program or discussion groups within the membership. The programs will fulfill a range of scholarly, informational, recreational and entertainment interests. This is a new committee which solicits and encourages all your ideas for groups. So far we have an active photography group and more will evolve.

Chair: Carolyn Gilbert (

-Elaine Carty
Nichola Hall
-Don Fisher

-Lee Perry
-Bill McCutcheon
-Jean McCutcheon
-Michael Whitfield

Back to the top